European Travel Information and Authorization System
Latest ETIAS News

Do I need ETIAS to visit Ireland?

Etias Visa Waiver
Etias Europe

Do I need ETIAS to visit Ireland? ETIAS is a way to travel to any country in the Schengen Zone. It will be required to visit the Schengen area for citizens of more than 50 nations. Ireland is not a member of the Schengen area but an EU member.

Keep in mind the difference between Ireland and Northern Ireland. Only the former is part of the UK. As a result, many issues concerning the border between Ireland, the UK, and Northern Ireland have arisen in the Brexit negotiations. More information can be found below.

This article will provide all the information travelers need about Ireland and its relationship to the Schengen Area.

Ireland and Northern Ireland

The Republic of Ireland is Ireland’s official title. It is not part of the UK. Although Ireland is not part of the Schengen Zone, it is a member of the EU.

Northern Ireland forms part of the UK. Officially, it is the United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland. The UK also includes England, Scotland, and Wales.

Even if the UK had not voted for Brexit, ETIAS could not be used to travel in the UK because the United Kingdom hasn’t signed the Schengen Agreement. ETIAS is required to visit the Schengen area and countries that are in the process of joining Schengen.

Northern Ireland is separate from Ireland. Northern Ireland will still be part of the United Kingdom, while Ireland will remain in the EU.

Irish Border Security System

It is helpful to understand the history of the Irish border to understand the current situation better. Internationally known as the Northern Ireland Conflict (or simply the Conflict), this political and nationalist conflict began in the late 1960s and was fueled by historical events.

The constitutional status of Northern Ireland was a critical issue. Most Protestants supported the UK Northern Ireland as part of the Unionist and Loyalist movement. Most Catholics supported Northern Ireland joining a united Ireland.

The conflict started during the end of discrimination by the police against Catholic minors and the Protestant governments. The police were accused of using brutality to suppress the authorities’ campaign.

The violence between the groups resulted in riots that culminated in the August 1969 deployment of British troops and riots. Paramilitary organizations also emerged, and these events eventually led to three-decade-long disturbances.

Political negotiations have again focused on the border, this time concerning Brexit. Former Prime Minister Theresa May could not resolve the Northern Ireland border issue, and it continues to be a problem for Boris Johnson, the current PM.

After years of negotiations, the EU and UK have just created rules to prevent border checks between Northern Ireland (and the Republic of Ireland) starting January 1, after much discussion.

Ireland is not a Member of the Schengen Zone.

Eire (or Ireland) is a member of the EU but has not joined Schengen Area.

The UK and Ireland have a Common Travel Area that allows passport-free travel to their citizens, as well as the three British Crown Dependencies of Jersey and Guernsey, which are not members of the European Union.

Gibraltar will be included in the Schengen Scheme following the agreement reached by the UK and the EU for a post-Brexit period.

The UK refused to sign up for the Schengen Agreement, arguing that frontier controls are better than other methods to stop illegal immigration in an island country.

Ireland refused to sign the Schengen Agreement for its reasons. It said it was not in Ireland’s best interest to do so. Ireland would also impose exit and entry controls on people traveling between Ireland and Britain and the frontier.

The country didn’t join the Schengen Agreement mainly because it wanted to control non-EU citizens’ immigration status. Ireland does not belong to mainland Europe. Therefore, it makes sense for Ireland to manage their borders in the way they choose.

ETIAS Visa Waiver for Ireland

The Schengen Agreement was created to establish uniform border rules across its member countries. For example, Schengen visa holders can stay up to 90 days within the region. A Schengen Visa is valid to travel within the countries that have signed the agreement. It can be used for up to 90 days during 180 days.

ETIAS does not replace the Schengen visa. ETIAS is a visa waiver for citizens of countries exempted from visa requirements in the Schengen Area. It will be in place by 2025. ETIAS will be required to visit the Schengen area for citizens of more than 50 nations.

ETIAS Visa requirements

It’s a way for border officials to identify and mitigate threats before they reach the border. Each traveler from Canada (or any other visa-exempt country) will be required to submit an application for ETIAS authorization before they can enter any Schengen country.

If you want to visit countries that are members of the Schengen Area, you will need an ETIAS visa. You can check the requirements for ETIAS on the website.

Is ETIAS Mandatory to Visit Ireland?

The simple answer is no. You will not require ETIAS authorization to visit Ireland. ETIAS travel authorization only allows entry to Schengen countries. This does not apply to Ireland. ETIAS can also be used for countries that are joining Schengen: Cyprus, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Romania.

Non-EU citizens who want to make the most out of their trip and visit European countries such as Italy or Spain will need an ETIAS permit.

ETIAS will be available to citizens of more than 50 countries when it is released in 2025.

Check the entry requirements for travelers who are planning to visit Ireland based on their nationality. You may need additional permits to enter Northern Ireland or any other country in the United Kingdom.

Schengen System and Ireland

Recently, the EU approved Ireland’s access to the Schengen Information System. Ireland now has access to SIS II – Europe’s most popular and widely used IT security system.

A Garda Siochana is the Irish national police force and will share data on missing persons and stolen or lost objects and cars with the 30 other participating countries.

This is a significant security boost because the data can be used to detect potentially dangerous persons trying to enter Ireland and locate people and objects elsewhere within Europe.

The An Garda Siochana PULSE and Garda National Immig Bureau databases will be integrated with SIS II to detect and prevent serious crimes. Ireland will not be included in the Schengen common travel area, but it will receive the safety and security benefits of sharing knowledge.


Does the 90-day rule apply to Ireland?

The Immigration Officer will determine how long you can stay in Ireland, but it will not exceed 90 days. When you come through immigration, you should bring supporting documentation that relates to your purpose of visit.

Do Schengen rules apply to Ireland?

Ireland does not belong to the Schengen Area. This means that you will need to go through an immigration checkpoint if you are traveling to the Schengen Area from Ireland. You will need to show your passport and national identification card.

How can I stay in Ireland longer than 90 days?

If you require a visa to enter Ireland and wish to stay for more than 90 days, you must apply for a D-type visa. Permission to enter the country on the basis of a ‘C-type visa will not allow you to stay beyond a period of 90 days.

How many times can I visit Ireland in a year?

A multiple-entry visa to Ireland allows you to enter and exit Ireland as often as you like, provided your Irish visa remains valid.

Why Ireland is not in Schengen?

Ireland was able to avoid joining the Schengen area with other EU countries in 1985 because of the CTA that it had with the UK. This would have been lost if Ireland had joined Schengen, but the UK did not.